Hasselberg & Truman Named Finalists for 2019 AJHL Awards

The Alberta Junior Hockey League, in partnership with RBC, today announced the 2018-2019 AJHL Award Finalists.  The annual awards are presented in six categories, including Most Valuable Player, Rookie of the Year, Outstanding Defenceman, Top Goaltender, Most Dedicated Player and Coach of the Year.   

The General Managers and Coaches of the Alberta Junior Hockey League have selected two finalists from each division through the first two phases of voting.  The winner for each of the awards will be determined through a final stage of voting and announced during the final week of the AJHL regular season.

2018-2019 Alberta Junior Hockey League Award Finalists

Most Valuable Player – Alberta Old Time Hockey Players Trophy

(2018 Winner – Chris Van Os-Shaw, Spruce Grove Saints)

Dylan Holloway – Okotoks Oilers
William Lemay – Brooks Bandits
Luke Lush – Drayton Valley Thunder
Reed Morison – Fort McMurray Oil Barons
Rookie of the Year – Dick White Trophy, Presented by Canalta Hotels

(2018 Winner – Zachary Okabe, Grande Prairie Storm)

Roc Truman – Drumheller Dragons
Brady Parker – Okotoks Oilers
Carter Savoie – Sherwood Park Crusaders
Matt Davis – Spruce Grove Saints
Outstanding Defenceman – W.G. (Bill) Scott Memorial Trophy, Presented by the Alberta Ford Dealers

(2018 Winner – Jacob Bernard-Docker, Okotoks Oilers)

Zach Vinnell – Camrose Kodiaks
Mark Drohan – Canmore Eagles
TJ Lloyd – Spruce Grove Saints
Luke Albert – Bonnyville Pontiacs
Top Goaltender – Friends of Alberta Junior Hockey League Trophy

(2018 Winner – Riley Morris, Okotoks Oilers)

Pierce Charleson – Brooks Bandits
Brady Parker – Okotoks Oilers
Colby Muise – Bonnyville Pontiacs
Luke Lush – Drayton Valley Thunder
Most Dedicated Player – Don McNabb Memorial Trophy

(2018 Winner – Shane Fraser, Fort McMurray Oil Barons)

Alex Young – Canmore Eagles
Kyle Gordon – Okotoks Oilers
Taner Miller – Fort McMurray Oil Barons
Connor Blake – Grande Prairie Storm
Coach of the Year – Presented by Finning Canada

(2018 Winner – Tyler Deis, Okotoks Oilers)

Ryan Papaioannou – Brooks Bandits
Kevin Hasselberg – Drumheller Dragons
Eric Thurston – Drayton Valley Thunder
Rick Swan – Bonnyville Pontiacs