Scout Truman Named To AJHL Viterra South All Rookie Team

The Alberta Junior Hockey League (AJHL) today unveiled the Viterra All-League and All-Rookie teams for the 2018-2019 season.  The individuals are selected to the respective teams through a voting process completed by the General Managers and Coaches of the AJHL.

Viterra South Division All-League Team

G Pierce Charleson – Brooks Bandits
D Zach Vinnell – Camrose Kodiaks
D Mark Drohan – Canmore Eagles
F Dylan Holloway – Okotoks Oilers
F William Lemay – Brooks Bandits
F Alex Young – Canmore Eagles
Viterra North Division All-League Team

G Luke Lush – Drayton Valley Thunder
D TJ Lloyd – Spruce Grove Saints
D Luke Albert – Bonnyville Pontiacs
F Reed Morison – Fort McMurray Oil Barons
F Grayson Constable – Bonnyville Pontiacs
F Carter Savoie – Sherwood Park Crusaders
The 2018-19 All-League teams include all four AJHL MVP finalists (Holloway, Lemay, Morison and Lush), which was eventually awarded to Dylan Holloway of the Okotoks Oilers.   Holloway was also selected to the South Division All-Rookie team in 2017-18.

The Viterra AJHL South All-League team includes two members from both the Brooks Bandits and Canmore Eagles, including AJHL Scoring Champion William Lemay (Brooks).  Five of the players identified on the All-League team led their clubs in scoring (Morison, Savoie, Holloway, Lemay, Young).

On the Viterra AJHL North Division roster, the Bonnyville Pontiacs is the only team represented by dual selections.  Among the league award winners on the North side are 2018-19 Top Goaltender Luke Lush (Drayton Valley), Outstanding Defenceman TJ Lloyd (Spruce Grove) and Rookie of the Year Carter Savoie (Sherwood Park).  

Eight players on the 2018-19 All-League teams have secured a commitment to a College or University beginning as early as the 2019-20 season (Lloyd, Albert, Constable, Savoie, Vinnell, Holloway, Lemay, Young).



Viterra South Division All-Rookie Team

G Brady Parker – Okotoks Oilers
D Andrew Lucas – Brooks Bandits
D Ethan Lund – Brooks Bandits
F Simon Gravel – Brooks Bandits
F Ray Christy – Brooks Bandits
F Scout Truman – Drumheller Dragons
Viterra North Division All-Rookie Team

G Matt Davis – Spruce Grove Saints
D Michael Benning – Sherwood Park Crusaders
D Mason Waite – Lloydminster Bobcats
F Carter Savoie – Sherwood Park Crusaders
F Alex Nordstrom – Grande Prairie Storm
F Stanley Cooley – Spruce Grove Saints
Carter Savoie has been awarded a selection to both the All League and All Rookie team in the South Division.  Savoie was the recipient of the 2018-19 AJHL Rookie of the Year Award and is joined by two of the remaining finalists on the All-Rookie rosters (Davis, Parker).

The Brooks Bandits dominated the South Division All-Rookie team with four of the six roster selections.  In the North Division, the Spruce Grove Saints and Sherwood Park Crusaders were both represented with dual selections.

A total of eight players on the 2018-19 All-Rookie teams have already committed to a College or University (Davis, Benning, Nordstrom, Cooley, Lucas, Gravel, Christy, Truman).   Goaltender Matt Davis has also earned his way onto the NHL Central Scouting Mid-Term Rankings for the upcoming 2019 NHL Entry Draft, listed as #30 among North American goaltenders.

Three of the players voted onto the All-League and All-Rookie rosters represented the AJHL and Canada in the 2018-19 season.  Dylan Holloway won a gold medal with Canada at the 2018 Hlinka-Gretzky Cup in August 2018 to kick off his award-winning season.  Dylan Holloway, TJ Lloyd and Matt Davis were members of Team West at the 2018 World Junior A Challenge in December, and just weeks later, Holloway and Davis were also selected to participate in the 2019 CJHL Prospects Game.

The Alberta Junior Hockey League selected its first All-League and All-Rookie teams in 1997.  Over the past 20 years, some of the most notable AJHL alumni have filled these rosters including Mike Comrie (St Albert), Dany Heatley (Calgary Canucks), Curtis Glencross and Cale Makar (Brooks), Mark Letestu (Bonnyville), Shannon Szabados (Sherwood Park), Jay Beagle (Calgary Royals), Joe Colborne and Mason Raymond (Camrose).