Taupert Named Finalist for AJHL MVP

The Alberta Junior Hockey League, in partnership with RBC, is proud to announce the finalists for the 2017-2018 League Awards.  The annual awards are presented in the following six categories: Most Valuable Player, Rookie of the Year, Outstanding Defenceman, Top Goaltender, Most Dedicated Player and Coach of the Year.

The General Managers and Coaches of the Alberta Junior Hockey League have selected two finalists from each division through the first two phases of voting.  The winner for each of the awards listed below will be determined through a final stage of voting and announced during the last week of the 2017-2018 AJHL Regular Season.

2017-2018 Alberta Junior Hockey League Award Finalists

Most Valuable Player – Alberta Old Time Hockey Players Trophy
(2017 Winner – Cale Makar, Brooks Bandits)

• Chris Van Os-Shaw – Spruce Grove Saints
• Justin Bernier – Grande Prairie Storm
• Jordan Taupert – Drumheller Dragons
• Dennis Cesana – Brooks Bandits

Rookie of the Year – Dick White Trophy, Presented by Canalta Hotels
(2017 Winner – Oliver Chau, Brooks Bandits)

• Zachary Okabe – Grande Prairie Storm
• Chris Curr – Fort McMurray Oil Barons
• Brock Bremer – Camrose Kodiaks
• Nick Blankenburg – Okotoks Oilers

Outstanding Defenceman – W.G. (Bill) Scott Memorial Trophy, Presented by the Alberta Ford Dealers
(2017 Winner – Cale Makar, Brooks Bandits)

• TJ Lloyd – Spruce Grove Saints
• Daniel Hilsendager – Lloydminster Bobcats
• Jacob Bernard-Docker – Okotoks Oilers
• Dennis Cesana – Brooks Bandits

Top Goaltender – Friends of Alberta Junior Hockey League Trophy
(2017 Winner – Logan Drackett, Calgary Canucks)

• Eric Szudor – Fort McMurray Oil Barons
• Xavier Potvin – Whitecourt Wolverines
• Riley Morris – Okotoks Oilers
• Mitchel Benson – Brooks Bandits

Most Dedicated Player – Don McNabb Memorial Trophy
(2017 Winner – Ryan Symington, Bonnyville Pontiacs)

• Shane Fraser – Fort McMurray Oil Barons
• Jaedon Leslie – Whitecourt Wolverines
• Joey May – Calgary Mustangs
• Jacob Bernard-Docker – Okotoks Oilers

Coach of the Year
(2017 Winner – Tom Keca, Fort McMurray Oil Barons)

• Bram Stephen – Spruce Grove Saints
• Tom Keca – Fort McMurray Oil Barons
• Tyler Deis – Okotoks Oilers
• Tyler Drader – Calgary Mustangs

The following League Awards and Scholarships will also be presented at the completion of the 2017-2018 AJHL Regular Season:

• Regular Season Champion – Dave Duchak Trophy
• Scoring Champion – Ernie Love Trophy
• Top Team Goaltenders – CCM Top Team Goaltenders Award
• 2017-2018 Viterra All League and All Rookie Team
• Viterra Star of the Game Standings Leader – Viterra Cup
• Unified Valve Group Powerplay Leader

• Stewy Stewart Memorial Award – Stewy Stewart Memorial Trophy
• Viterra Salute to Service Volunteer Award

• RBC Junior A Scholarship
• Inter Pipeline AJHL Scholarship
• Unified Valve Group Scholarship

RBC is committed to helping hockey happen in communities across North America. As a premier partner of Hockey Canada and USA Hockey, RBC is the official sponsor of each country's Men's and Women's National and Olympic hockey teams, the 2011 World Junior Championship, Canada's National Junior A Championship – RBC Cup, and the Hockey Hall of Fame and will support the development of hockey at all levels.