Three Dragons to Attend Team Canada West Camp



Three Dragons to Attend Team Canada West Camp

Drumheller, AB: November 20, 2017              The Drumheller Dragons are extremely proud to announce that Jordan Taupert, Markus Boguslavsky, and Hunter Virostek have been named to the Team Canada West 60 player selection camp roster. 

A group of 60 invitees will assemble in Calgary Dec. 2-5 for four days of practices and games as part of the Team Canada West selection camp at the Markin MacPhail Centre at Canada Olympic Park. The players were selected from the CJHL’s five western Junior A leagues: the British Columbia Hockey League (BCHL), Alberta Junior Hockey League (AJHL), Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League (SJHL), Manitoba Junior Hockey League (MJHL), and Superior International Junior Hockey League (SIJHL).

Team Canada West’s coaching staff and its director of operations, Kevin Saurette (Winnipeg/MJHL), will use the selection camp to make their final evaluations – with input from the camp’s guest coaches – before naming Team Canada West’s final roster.
“As a group, we are very excited at the depth of talent, character, and work ethic of the 60 players that have been identified for selection camp,” said Saurette. “We look forward to watching these players earn the opportunity to represent Team Canada West at what will be a very competitive selection camp. It is always a difficult process to narrow down and identify 60 players from the five leagues in the West, and I commend our coaching staff on all their hard work, dedication, and professionalism through this process.”

Drumheller Dragons Head Coach couldn’t be more excited stating “Markus, Jordan, and Hunter have all had tremendous starts to the season. Each brings something unique to the camp and we believe all three will make final decisions for the Team Canada West Coaching staff very difficult. All of their teammates, coaches, billets, and fans will be cheering for them during this tremendous opportunity.”

Team Canada West will open its tournament against the Czech Republic at 3:30 p.m. AT on Dec. 10.

For more information on this announcement, please contact:

Kevin Hasselberg