Jeff Hendricks Memorial

Saturday, November 9 at 7pm the Drumheller Dragons are set to take on the Whitecourt Wolverines.  This will be a special game as we are having the Jeff Hendricks Memorial Scholarship presentation.  This presentation will be made on ice pre-game.  Along with the presentation we will be having members from the Legion present to help us honor Remembrance Day.  Also be sure to check out all of the silent auction items that will be set up in the lobby.  Start your Christmas shopping early!!

Who is Jeff Hendricks?

In 1980-1981, Jeff Hendricks played hockey in Drumheller for the Jr. A. Falcons. During this season he was fifth in the league for total points with 89, tenth in the league for goals with 29 and second in assists with 60. Total PIM’s the same year 190. Jeff’s passion was the game of hockey. He played the game, coached and scouted the game. On February 6th 2006, Jeff passed away at the age of 45.

What does this scholarship have to do with the Drumheller Dragons?

This Memorial Scholarship is awarded annually to a player of the Drumheller Dragons Jr. A. Hockey Team. It was established to recognize the outstanding contribution of Jeff Hendricks to the game of hockey. To receive this award, a player must show a real passion and commitment to the game of hockey. The winner must be respected by his teammates and be a leader on and off the ice. Most of all, the recipient of this award must posses a love for his teammates and a willingness to do anything for them.  The intention of this scholarship is to present an annual award of a minimum $1000 to a deserving player with the Drumheller Dragons.  This player must have graduated from grade 12 and be enrolling in a post –secondary institution.

Past winners of this prestigious award are:

2005–2006     Talon Berlando       University of Wisconsin Superior.
2006–2007     Trent Colberg          University of Lethbridge.
2007–2008     Trevor Smyth           Brown University.
2008–2009     Trent Colberg          University of Lethbridge.
2009-2010      Scott Kennedy         University of Lethbridge.
2010-2011      Kenton Levesque    SAIT
2011-2012      Brennan Baxandall  University of Massachusetts