Dragons Hand Out Year End Awards

Drumheller, AB

Although the season and playoffs did not end the way the team or the fans would have liked, it was a great year for the Drumheller Dragons.

On Saturday, May 7, the Dragons hosted their Annual Awards Banquet celebrating the accomplishments of the team this season and acknowledging the players and people that made a difference this season.   It was a full house at the Cretaceous Conference Centre for the awards ceremony and dinner.  

A list of the winners of the awards is below:

Volunteer(s) of the Year – Morley Krause and Rusty Hamelin
Fan Favourite Award – #12 Luke Fennig
Community Involvement Award – #28 Ben Christian
Academic Achievement – #17 Will Christian
Faubion Family Unsung Hero Award – #13 Grayson Dietrich
Hardest Working Dragon – #18 Myles Hilman
Most Improved Player Award – #19 Ty Whitford
Rookie of the Year – #15 Vann Yuhas
Defenseman of the Year – #3 Tanner Willick
Top Scorer – #37 Carter Belitski
Top Playoff Performer – #35 Eric Ward
Most Valuable Player – #18 Myles Hilman
Jeff Hendricks Memorial Scholarship and Award – #35 Eric Ward

As well, as has been tradition since the Dragons began 19 seasons ago, the departing and graduating players receive their jerseys.   Players that are graduating or departing this season are:

# 8 Kiano Robinson
#9 Griffin Asham-Moroz
#12 Luke Fennig
#13 Grayson Dietrich
#18 Myles Hilman
#35 Eric Ward
#37 Carter Belitski


-Jason Blanke