Friends of Alberta Junior Hockey Society Award Annual Scholarships

Congratulations to former Dragons Chris Wray on receiving the Charles S. Noble Scholarship.  Chris played with the Dragons in the 2011-2012 & 2012-2013 Season. 


February 4th, 2014 – The Friends of Alberta Junior Hockey Society today announced the recipients of twenty-one scholarships totaling $32,000.  The annual scholarships will be awarded to Junior hockey players, alumni, and on-ice officials throughout the remainder of the 2013-2014 season.

The Friends of Alberta Junior Hockey Society scholarship program has awarded $646,000 in scholarships since it began in the early 1980s. 

Over 50 applications were received from Junior hockey players and officials across the province this year.  Once again, the selection committee was impressed by the scholastic achievements and ambition of these young athletes.

Charles S. Noble Scholarship
The Charles S. Noble Scholarship is awarded to players and alumni taking full-time courses at post-secondary schools in Alberta.  The scholarships are presented on behalf of the Alberta Heritage Scholarship Fund and the Friends of Alberta Junior Hockey Society Scholarship Program.

Charles S. Noble Scholarship Recipients:
1.    Levi Ansell                  Bonnyville Pontiacs
2.    Christopher Wray       Drumheller Dragons

The Friends of Alberta Junior Hockey Society would like to acknowledge the Province of Alberta's Advanced Education Scholarship Program Department for their continued support in providing matching funds for the Charles S. Noble Scholarships.

Friends of Alberta Junior Hockey Society Scholarship
Sixteen players, alumni and game officials have been selected for a Friends of Alberta Junior Hockey Society Scholarship.  The Friends of Alberta Junior Hockey Society Scholarships are awarded to players, game officials and therapists who distinguish themselves in their pursuit of academic and athletic excellence.  Twelve of the recipients are from the Alberta Junior Hockey League.

Friends of Alberta Junior Hockey Society Scholarship Recipients:
1.      Chris Rebus                 On Ice Official
2.      Jeremy Burns              Brooks Bandits
3.      Cory Kloss                  Brooks Bandits
4.      Dustin Nickel              Calgary Canucks
5.      Cody Cartier                Canmore Eagles
6.      Dalyn Flette                 Camrose Kodiaks
7.      Brayden Hopfe            Camrose Kodiaks
8.      Tyler Jewitt                 Camrose Kodiaks
9.      Mitchell Board            Fort McMurray Oil Barons
10.   Mike Puddifant           Fort McMurray Oil Barons
11.   Jeff Barrett                  Okotoks Oilers
12.   Dylan Hollman            Spruce Grove Saints

Nickerson Family Scholarship
The Nickerson Family Scholarship is awarded to honour the wife of long-time Fort McMurray Oil Barons’ supporter Dr. Ken Nickerson. 

Nickerson Family Scholarship Recipient:
•        John Stimson               Brooks Bandits

Current Alberta Junior Hockey League players will be presented with their respective scholarships at an upcoming AJHL game in their home arena throughout the final months of the 2013-2014 season.

For the full list of scholarship recipients, click here